Open post

2016 Tamar Valley Writer’s Festival

Are you a short story writer, getting into writing, or just love to tell people a story. The beautiful Tamar Valley has a Writer’s Festival each year that began in 2014 in the township of Beaconsfield.  March is one of the best times to visit Tasmania, as I have done over many  years. The weather seems so perfect, no matter where you are. So if you are in the mood for sharing some of your work, why not enter this competition today.

The Tamar Valley Writers Festival has a short story competition celebrating creative writing across the ages. The competition has three categories for Adult, eighteen and under, and the Tamar Valley Schools in the competition.  The entry fee for adult writers aged 18 and above is $10. Entry is free for writers under 18 years of age.

 The entry form can be downloaded from this site.

Open post

Orion Enterprises Publishing Competition


Competition will run from the 20th October 2015, until the 20th January 2016.
Winner will be announced on the 20th February 2016
Entry fee $10 AU

Write an original short story, no longer than 30,000 words.
Your choice of topic and genre. *conditions apply*
Submissions to be in PDF format

Send your submission to:

Subject line- short story competition
Message text – name of your short story, Author name, word count
Payment made to: paypal or direct deposit available for Australian citizens

( see bottom of page for details)

Winner will receive:
ebook and print formatting of their story
Cover design for their story
1 print version of their story,
(Soft cover 5 x 8 size)
6 months promotion on the Orion Enterprises Publishing website and Facebook
Winners certificate

2nd place will receive:
ebook formatting of their story
Cover design for their story
1 month promotion on the Orion Enterprises Publishing website
Runner up certificate

3rd place will receive:
Ebook formatting of their story
3rd place certificate.

*Terms and Conditions* please read carefully

1. Your short story must be an original unpublished work by you.
2. No fan fiction
3. Short story must be edited
4. No rape or beastiality
5. All submissions to be in PDF format. Times New Roman, 12 point, single line spacing
6. No communication will be entered into with contestants while competition is running
7. All winners final
8. All prizes final

Competition run by Orion Enterprises Publishing

Open post

Competition Time!!!

Attention All Authors

The Easychair Bookshop Website is now accepting entries for the 2016 Competition.

At this time the following is required:

Name of Book
Name of Author/s
Category Entered

Books can be entered in more than one category and several books by the same author may be entered into one category.


Winners from 2015 are ineligible to enter.

Entries Close on December 31  2015

Finalists will be announced on March 31  2016

Winners will be announced on 1 July  2016


Only books posted on the Easychair Website by 31 December 2015 may be entered.

Round One will require the first 3 chapters or 60 pages only in PDF format.

Round Two will require the complete manuscript in PDF format.

All books entered are to have all traces of title, author name and other identifying marks removed and are to be Copyright watermarked. If you are unable to do this, I can do on your behalf so please advise.

Books will be judged on the following:

  • Plot
  • Setting
  • Characters
  • Continuity
  • Editing

Judges decisions are final. No Judge will have a book entered in the category they are judging.

I will co-ordinate the competiton only. I will not have a book entered and I will not participate in judging.



Medallion, ECertificate and EBadge
Full page in the front of the Easychair Website plus a blog post at one of my blogs

Runners-Up – 5th Place: 

ECertificate and EBadge
Joint page in front of Easychair Website for 1 year.


As many of you know, I lost my beloved father in May this year. He was an avid Western fan and it was because of him, I developed my love of all things Western – Cowboys, Indians, Sheriffs, Outlaws etc.

He was my most devoted and loyal fan and to honor his memory, a special trophy to the Western category winner from 2016 onwards, will be given.

  • Romance
  • Western Romance
  • Romantic Suspense
  • Historical Romance
  • Crime/Mystery
  • Paranormal/Sci Fi
  • Novella
  • Childrens
  • Young Adult
  • Humor
  • GLBT
  • Menage
  • Erotic Romance
  • Over 18 Novella

Email Entries to:

Scroll to top